Welcome

This blog is an attempt to formulate some of my thoughts on Software and occasionally other topics. For years I read other other peoples blogs without feeling the need to contribute. Eventually though, something snapped – in a world of millions of nations of one, there is room for one more.

To get going though, it’s interesting to me how literally some people take blog posts. I think the limitations of the medium, along with the fact that it takes a lot of skill to communicate your ideas effectively mean it’s often easier to give simple rules than to attempt to describe all possible nuances.

So since I’m not a professional author, and don’t have the time or skill to clarify every nuance, here’s my get-out clause… Whenever you see ‘must’, ‘always’ or ‘never’, please mentally add the caveat ‘except when there’s a good reason to do otherwise’. 🙂

